ETD-Logo-B-Invert.png

FAQ

Welcome, Prisoner…

In these pages you will find designer's notes and answers to frequently asked questions about Escape the Dark Castle, including its expansions. 

We’ll update these pages as new questions arise, so if you can't find a helpful answer here please email us at: contact@themeborne.com

 

NOTE - This page is best viewed in desktop format and may not display correctly yet on mobile devices 

 

General Rules FAQ

Q – How many items are drawn after combat?

A - As standard, after surviving a combat, draw one item card. Just one, regardless of how many or what type of enemies the combat involved, and regardless of how many players are in the game. There are some rare occasions where you draw more than 1, but on these occasions the text specifically tells you so - breaking the standard rule.

 

Q - If I already have two items in hand and draw a Partially Rotten Apple, can I still use it?

A - Remember that the player who physically reaches out and draws an item card does not automatically keep it. Every time you draw any number of item cards, you first turn them face up into the middle of the table where all players can see (we can call this temporary inventory area 'the pool' for the purposes if this example). Then you decide as a group who will take what from the pool. During this discussion, players can put items they were already carrying down into the pool, pick others up, use them, pick up what they originally put down again, trade with other players, or any combination of this. The golden rule is that no character can be carrying more than 2 items when a chapter card is turned - anything you don't want to take forward with you gets left behind in the discard pile.

 

Q – Can I use an item while RESTING?

A – No. A character who is RESTING cannot roll their dice or use items.

 

Q- Can we trade items after revealing the chapter card?

A – No. You must complete the trading of item cards between players BEFORE you turn the next chapter card. Once you turn, the events of the chapter are effectively happening in real time. No time to trade. You are a group of ragged prisoners running blinding through the Dark Castle. You don't get a preview of what is coming! We want you to be nervous about turning those chapters, so we packed them with nasty surprises and restricted trading to beforehand only.

 

 Card FAQ

Every card in Escape the Dark Castle has a unique code on its lower left edge (e.g. DCSE-CH01). In the list below, simply click on the code for the card your question relates to and you’ll be taken to the appropriate FAQ page. This will avoid spoilers as much as possible.

 

CHAPTER CARDS

 
 

DCSE-CH01

DCSE-CH06

DCSE-CH11

DCSE-CH16

DCSE-CH21

DCSE-CH26

DCSE-CH31

DCSE-CH36

DCSE-CH41


DCKS-CH01

DCKS-CH06


DCA1-CH01

DCA1-CH06

DCA1-CH11

DCSE-CH02

DCSE-CH07

DCSE-CH12

DCSE-CH17

DCSE-CH22

DCSE-CH27

DCSE-CH32

DCSE-CH37

DCSE-CH42


DCKS-CH02

DCKS-CH07


DCA1-CH02

DCA1-CH07

DCA1-CH12

DCSE-CH03

DCSE-CH08

DCSE-CH13

DCSE-CH18

DCSE-CH23

DCSE-CH28

DCSE-CH33

DCSE-CH38

DCSE-CH43


DCKS-CH03

DCKS-CH08


DCA1-CH03

DCA1-CH08

DCA1-CH13

DCSE-CH04

DCSE-CH09

DCSE-CH14

DCSE-CH19

DCSE-CH24

DCSE-CH29

DCSE-CH34

DCSE-CH39

DCSE-CH44



DCA1-CH04

DCA1-CH09

DCA1-CH14

DCSE-CH05

DCSE-CH10

DCSE-CH15

DCSE-CH20

DCSE-CH25

DCSE-CH30

DCSE-CH35

DCSE-CH40

DCSE-CH45



DCA1-CH05

DCA1-CH10

DCA1-CH15

 
 

ITEM CARDS

 

DCSE-IC01

DCSE-IC06

DCSE-IC11

DCSE-IC16



DCA1-IC01

DCSE-IC02

DCSE-IC07

DCSE-IC12

DCSE-IC17



DCA1-IC02

DCSE-IC03

DCSE-IC08

DCSE-IC13

DCSE-IC18



DCA1-IC03

DCSE-IC04

DCSE-IC09

DCSE-IC14

 



DCA1-IC04

DCSE-IC05

DCSE-IC10

DCSE-IC15

 



DCA1-IC05

 
 

BOSS CARDS

 

DCSE-BC02


DCKS-BC02

DCSE-BC03